About District

History Of Darbhanga

 Under the British Rule, Darbhanga was a part of Sarkar Tirhut up to 1875, when it was constituted into a separate district. The subdivisions had been created earlier – Darbhanga Sadar in 1845, Madhubani in 1866 and Samastipur (then known as Tajpur) in 1867. It was the part of Patna division till 1908 , when the Tirhut division was created with its headquarters at Muzaffarpur. As a result of reorganization of districts in the State which took effect in the year 1972, Madhubani and Samastipur sub division were upgraded as independent districts and then the trimmed Darbhanga district has three subdivisions, viz, Darbhanga Sadar and Benipur consisting of 12 Development Blocks in all. Biraul Subdivision was created in 1992 and six more Development Blocks were created namely Hanuman Nagar, Tardih, Gaura Bauram, Kiratpur, Kusheshwar Asthan East and Alinagar in later stage. The district is bounded on the north by Madhubani district, on the south by the district of Samastipur, on the east by Saharsa district and on the west by the district of Muzaffarpur and Sitamarhi.
There are two Urban Local Bodies – The Municipal corporation Darbhanga and the Benipur Municipal Council. The Benipur Municipal Council has been divided in 29 wards. The Population of Benipur Municupal Council is 75317 as per census 2011.

 Darbhanga is a municipal corporation town. Presently headquarter of Darbhanga district as well as Darbhanga Division. Darbhanga is the 5th largest city of Bihar. It is one of the most important districts and big cities of North Bihar. Darbhanga is also known as Heart of the Mithilanchal. According to census 2011, the total population of the District is 3937385. The Male population is 2059949 and Female population is 1877436. The Population of Darbhanga Town is 371356. Darbhanga district is having a total geographical area of 2279 Sq. Km. It is situated between longitude 85 degree 45 minute East and 25 degree 53 minute North.