Tourist Guide

Darbhanga Raj Qila

Mahraja Laxmeshwar Singh Museum and Chandhari Museum

Shyama Temple

Holy Rosy Church


Under the British Rule, Darbhanga was a part of Sarkar Tirhut up to 1875, when it was constituted into a separate district. The subdivisions had been created earlier – Darbhanga Sadar in 1845, Madhubani in 1866 and Samastipur (then known as Tajpur) in 1867. It was the part of Patna division till 1908, when the Tirhut division was created with its headquarters at Muzaffarpur.

View More

At a Glance

Area: 2279 Sq. Km. Population: 39,37,385
Language: Maithili, Hindi,Urdu, English Villages: 1277
Male: 20,59,949 Female: 18,77,436
Shri Rajiv Raushan,IAS District Magistrate